Almost there …

These pictures taken on the weekend of 23rd Nov.

Moving in date is set for 29th Nov, Friday.  From now till Friday, have to juggle busy work commitments and packing.  Had already began the process of notifying the necessary changes to the address, getting rid of loose and unwanted furniture, buying appliances and timing them to be delivered at various times, etc. I swore the last time I shifted homes that I will not do it ever again.  And here I am …

Even getting rid of furniture is a difficult and tedious process involving tons of phone calls and emails.  Wanted to give away to charities like Salvation Army and Charis Misson, just that they have to pick it up on the exact date and time because items like the bed frame my dad is sleeping in now can’t be picked up any earlier.  But even Charities are too busy to take in donations, let will tell you:

C: ‘fully booked for the next few weeks to a month and cannot pick up your item on the date you specified.’

Me: ‘But it’s a very good scanteak bed frame which you can fetch a good price for.  Surely you can make an adjustment to your schedule …’

C: ‘Sorry, cannot’

I didn’t want to sell to 2nd hand furniture dealers as their attitudes all suck big time.  Low balling is ok.  The way they low ball makes me rather burn the stuff then give it to them.  Ain’t letting them make any easy money from me.  Decided in the end to give it to my movers.  They have always charged me really cheap price for moving … this time round for 30+ boxes and TV and loose items, only $120.  So I’d rather give them the bed frame that they can sell to make so extra. (Yes, need no. to movers let me know.  I haven’t come across anyone cheaper.  Only condition is speak hokkien and a little mandarin).

Ok.  Pictures of the place … almost ready.  Just some final touch ups now.

Floor, tables all sanded down and vanished. One more round of sanding and varnishing to go.

Waiting for them to peel off the protective layer on the cabinets. Hint: Black acrylic finish.

My showpiece … however small … :-p

231113 - 10

Couple of neighbours have visited while I was here and all praised CK for this idea, or thought I was an alchie.

Nothing fanciful, simple, mounted ikea rails in keeping with a really open concept.

The books shelf / study table / bed head all in one …

View of book shelf from the other side … open roof and drop down fan gives it a much airier feel.

Shower almost done. Wardrobe in the background installed.

Vanity area behind the shower.

Leave a comment